Community Gardens

 

Funded by the Greater Brockton Health Alliance, Brockton’s Promise, in partnership with the Farm at Stonehill, completed an evaluation of community gardening in the City of Brockton in spring of 2015.  As a result of the evaluation, the coalition saw the need for support in strengthening the existing garden beds. This year, BP has been given the opportunity to provide garden workshops to all community members and leaders interested in the development of community gardening, as well as physical resources to over 50% of gardens identified in the community.  

Brockton Gardens_MAP

Boys and Girls Club – 233 Warren Ave

Head Volunteers – Marguerite Sheridan………………….mgsheridan@comcast.net

Head Volunteers– Candy …………………………………..ganncandy@aol.com

Council on Aging – 10 Father Kenney Way

Program Activities Coordinator — Michelle Brace……….……….mbrace@cobma.us

Family Center, Community Connections of Brockton, 1367 Main St

Program Coordinator – Dawn Fontaine………………….dawn.fontaine@ccbrockton.org

Family Life Center – 40 Father Kenney Way

Family Services Program Director – Lila Burgess……….….lburgess@oldcolonyymca.org

Campello Senior High-Rise – 1380 Main St

Brockton Housing Authority Special Projects – Linda O’Malley……….lomal48610@aol.com

Frederick Douglass Garden – Warren Ave & Frederick Douglass Ave

FD Neighborhood Association Member – Lynn Smith…….. madeline-smith@hotmail.com

Old Colony YMCA, 320 Main Street

Community Coordinator, Big Sister Big Brother – Amanda Trask..…….atrask@oldcolonyymca.org

Campenelli Stadium (Home of Brockton Rox), 1 Feinberg Way

General Manager – Todd Marlin……………………………………..tmarlin@brocktonrox.com

Dr. William Arnone Elementary, 135 Belmont St

Principal – Colleen Proudler……………………………. COLLEENPROUDLER@bpsma.org

21st Century After School Supervisor – Barbara Lora………BARBARALORA@bpsma.org

George Elementary (BHA garden grant), 180 Colonel Bell Dr

3rd Grade Teacher — Tony Ghelfi……………………………………………louisaghelfi@bpsma.org

Raymond Elementary, 125 Oak St

Teacher and Garden leader – Michael McKenna…………..michaelcmckenna@bpsma.org

Barrett Russell – 45 Oakdale Street

Teacher – Linda Cashman……………………….…………….. lindalcashman@bpsma.org

Teacher – Stefanie McNeill……………………………………….stefaniemcneill@bpsma.org

East Junior HS – 464 Central St

Teacher/Volunteer still to be determined

West Junior HS – 271 West St

7th Grade Teacher Bob Connolly……………….robertconnelly@bpsma.org

Brockton High School – Seed to Table Garden, 470 Forest Ave

Science Teacher/Garden Coordinator – Ross Ferguson…ROSSFERGUSON@bpsma.org

Science Teacher/Garden Coordinator – Brendan Coughlin…BRENDANCOUGHLIN@bpsma.org

Massasoit Community College, 1 Massasoit Blvd

Professor/Gardens Coordinator – Melanie Trecek King… mtrecekking@massasoit.mass.edu

Biology Professor – Michael Bankson………………………………mbankson@massasoit.mass.edu

Independence Academy, 460 Belmont St

Ryan Morgan……………………………………………………………………………rmorgan@nrcollab.org

Trinity Catholic Academy Upper Campus, 37 Erie Ave

Teacher – Jeannine Tasho………………………………………………….jtasho@tcabrockton.org